Fretting Fingers

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by rizaaj, Dec 4, 2004.

1. rizaaj

rizaaj Forum Leader

Hey Guys, I wana know that is that any safety measure that we can take to protect our fretting fingers, i mean to say that is there any thing we can wear while playing a guitar???

bcoz im playing the guitar from last 18 months continuously, and had a break for jus 3 weeks hardly, and now my left hand fingers(the Fretting Fingers) have become hard rock, and if you talk about finger prints, then i don't have any on 1/4th part of my left hand fingers...

Any Help? any Suggestion? Any thing welcomed

2. death_metal_fan

death_metal_fan oh goody, it's a woody!

Well they should become harder than your right-hand fingers but not rock hard. I have finger prints all over my left hand fingers and I've been playing for over 4 years now.

You might be using a lot more force to fret the notes than may be required. Try and clean up your technique. Once you get past the beginner stage, you find out that you may need a lot less force and precise fretting.

I'm not sure what you can wear to protect your fingers. Any kind of gloves for instance make playing practically impossible because they mute other strings and make stretches difficult. I've seen a 'Black Crowes' guitarist use some kind of metal tube over his pinky because a particular song he plays requires barres with the pinky, but I don't know what else you can do.

3. 6String_assasin

6String_assasin The Painkiller

but y man..these fingers are what differentiates us guitarists from others.. ;)

Practice, practice, practice. Practiceuntil you get a guitar welt on your chest...if it makes you feel good, don't stop until you see the blood from your fingers. Then you'll know you're on to something!
    - Ted Nugent

4. 6String_assasin

6String_assasin The Painkiller

@dmf, i think he was joking abt the fingerprints.. :)

5. rizaaj

rizaaj Forum Leader