For complete newbies.. Guitar tips

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by esgallindeion, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. esgallindeion

esgallindeion Minstrel Knight

This is for those people who have yet to start or have been playing for a very short time (1-4 months)...

First of all, you must understand, especially if you have an Indian classical music teacher, the sa re ga ma's wont help u much in this internet era. You'll have to get into the c's, d's, e's etc... Ok?

The very first note of your guitar (in standard tuning), ie, the open note of ur 6th string (the thikest string) is 'e'. Got that?

Each successive fret represents a half distance. So, logically speaking, if I ask you to move 1 whole/full distance on ur fret board, it would mean jumping two frets. Simple, isn't it?

This is the way the notes are progressed throughout all the frets in your fretboard -

">" represents a half distance and ">>" a whole distance.

E>F>>G>>A>>B>C>>D>>E...

As you can see its only the 'e' note and the 'b' note which must be moves through a half distance to attain the next natural note.

The 5th fret of ur 6th string represents the open note of ur 5th string, ie, 'a'.

The 5th fret of ur 5th string represents the open note of ur 4th string, ie, 'd'.

The 5th fret of ur 4th string represents the open note of ur 3rd string, ie, 'g'.

The 4th fret of ur 3rd string represents the open note of ur 2nd string, ie, 'b'.

The 5th fret of ur 2nd string represents the open note of ur 1st string, ie, 'e'.

This is also the basics of tuning ur guitar.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I guess that's the least bit of knowledge u shld have. If I find time, I might post something on scale and chord theory.

2. sonal_neo

sonal_neo New Member

More

Hey. How about some more stuff here huh? I need serious help with learning the guitar.