For beginners only

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Enigma_enow, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. Enigma_enow

    Enigma_enow New Member


    Each chord consist of 3 orr more notes..Here shown which notes can make which chord..(For theoretical knowledge only)

    Major Chords:

    A major chord uses only 3 notes chords use many more notes. A major chords is formed by using the first third and fifth notes of a scale.

    Example: a C major scale contains the notes shown below:

    C D E F G A B C...and the 1st 3rd & 5th notes of the scale is C E and playing these 3 notes together will make a C MAJOR chord.

    Minor Chords:

    Like the major chord, the minor chord uses only three notes. The only difference between a major chord and a minor chord is that the 3rd of a minor chord is played flat.

    Example: an A Major chord is made up of A, C#, and E.

    A major Scale: A B C# D E F G A

    So in minor chord the 3rd note of the scale will be flat means C# will be C..So playing A, C, and E together will be A minor Chord.

    A Minor Scale: A, B, C, D, E, F, G, A

    Augmented Chords:

    As stated before the Minor chord takes the 3rd note of the Major chord and lowers it. An Augmented chord does just the opposite. It raises the 5th of the chord one fret.

    C major scale: C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C.
    So to make an Augmented Chord we have to take the 5th note(G) and have to raise it 1 fret ahead. Means C, E, G# notes make C Augmented Chord.

    In the Augmented Scale we also have to raise the 4th and 6th notes 1 fret ahead beside the 3rd.

    Augmented Scale of C: C, D, E, F#, G#, A#, C

    Seventh Chords:

    The seventh Chord still uses the same 3 notes - notes that all the chords contain. These basic notes of a scale 1,3,5 are called a triad. Every chord contains a triad. It may have more than the three, but it is built on the 1, 3, and 55 of the scale. the Seventh Chord is built on a Major triad but after the three notes are used a fourth is added. The fourth note the seventh note of the scale lowered 1 fret.

    C major Scale: C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C
    The triad is C, E, and G..In Seventh chord the seventh note(B) needed to lowered 1 fret(A#) and added.
    So C, E, G and A# make C Seventh Chord.

    Minor Seventh Chord:

    A Minor Seventh Chord is made up the same way as the Seventh stated before. The only difference is that the third note is played flat and the seventh tone does not have to be lowered. it is played as it appears in a pure minor scale.

    C Major Scale: C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C
    The 3rd note(E) is played lower(D#) as minor chord and the 7th note(B) is played in Minor Seventh Chord. So the notes in C Minor Seventh Chord are C, D#, G and B.

    Augmented Seventh chord:

    THe Augmented Seventh Chord is exactly the same as regular Seventh Chord except that the 5th of the scale is raised 1 fret ahead.

    Example: A C Seventh chord is spelled C, E, G and A#. A C Augmented Seventh Chord is spelled C, E, G# and A#.

    Major Seventh Chord:

    A Major Seventh Chord is the same as a regular Seventh with one exception. The seventh tone needed to be raised 1 fret.

    Example: C Seventh Chord is designed C, E, G and A# and a C Major Seventh Chord is designed with C, E, G and B notes.

    Minor Major Seventh Chord:

    As confusing as the name sounds, a Minor Major Seventh is really a simple chord to construct. It has only difference from a Minor Seventh Chord. In a Minor Major Seventh Chord the seventh note is raised 1 fret higher than it is in regular Minor Seventh Chord.

    Example: A C Minor Seventh Chord is built C, D#, G and B whether a C Minor Major Seventh is built with C, D#, G and C notes.
    Will continue........
  2. debankan

    debankan The bassist from hell

    Make this post in the lessons thread.
  3. voyager_avi

    voyager_avi Member

    Excellent post....

Share This Page