Floyd Rose V/s Fixed Bridge

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by buningsilver, Jul 9, 2010.

1. buningsilver

buningsilver New Member

I'm an amateur guitarist. I'm considering a a second guitar(first one being a very basic Pluto Strat copy). My budget is around 20k(slightly stretchable) and I'm considering these guitars :

Ibanez RG370DX ;
    Schecter Omen 6 Extreme (FR) ;(I'm getting both in this price range)
    Cort KX5 FR
    Schecter Omen 6
    ESP M50

PLease suggest other guitars in the mentioned, if possible. And please help me choose one of these guitars based on your experiences.

Since I'm planning on having this guitar for atleast two years, and I want a good investment.

I'm confused whether to go for a fixed bridge or a LFR. I play DROP D tunings pretty frquently. So do you think that having(or not having) the whammy bar will seriously limit me in the future ? I play metalcore,heavy metal, rock and some blues. But mostly Metal.

Please help me out.

2. ace41

ace41 New Member

I think you should go for some fixed bridge models. Unless you are a whammy maniac. The reason being your frequent Drop d tuning. (I dint know about others, but the rg370dx is a pain in the 'somewhere' when it comes to tuning and other setups). And all guitars in the 20k range have sucky tremolos. (I got a rg3exfm1 from ebay last month for a steal deal and it has fixed bridge and its good for changing tunings often)
    Also, i dont think anyone less than professionals should even touch the tremolo, but thats just a noobs opinion.
    I strongly suggest you look for Ibanez RGR321EX (~24k or lesser), its basically an RG with fixed bridge and emg hz pups (H-H) (you get better pups at the cost of a tremolo).

3. ultrabot90

ultrabot90 Like fishes need bicycles