first timers help... as always

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by eightytwo, Jun 30, 2010.

1. eightytwo

eightytwo New Member

ok...

I've been lusting an electric guitar and absolutely lost when it comes to deciding which one to buy... surprisingly, I found it easier to decide on the amp... Roland CUBE 15x (https://www.rolandus.com/products/productdetails.php?ProductId=820&ParentId=416).

Now, my total budget is 15k..( give or take 10%) the amp comes to about 5k.... I want to pickup a decent guitar for 10k... I've got mixed advice from many of my guitarist friends... some say, get a Givson and keep changing the parts as I keep moving along, some say get a decent piece for 7 or 8k... I prefer the second option... but I can't decide on which one... I was thinking of getting a Squier... but what are the other options I should consider? I've been told HMI, Ibanez (which I don't believe will come within my budget) and the sorts... I'm confused... I'm an amateur, if you must know...

Thanks and all that :)

2. rickkkyrich

rickkkyrich Guest

yamaha pacifica 012.. period

3. flood

flood New Member

your friends are WRONG.

you can't polish a turd. be it guitar, photography or anything else for that matter, the most stupid thing you can do is put expensive embellishments on a piece-of-shite foundation in the hope that you'd get something of a higher quality at the end of the day.

you can put lundgrens in it or bareknuckles, a givson will remain a givson.

4. metalmonke

metalmonke New Member

rickkyrich suggestion: pacifica 012
    cort x-1, x-2 (both are same except d body)
    cort z-42: 11k

5. eightytwo

eightytwo New Member

ok... thanks, guys... 012 seems to top the list for now...

flood, what do you suggest? You've been vocal about buying a good piece but didn't say which one... :)

6. flood

flood New Member