facing problem with strumming / picking pattern in any given song

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Pratibhabhat, Sep 19, 2003.

1. Pratibhabhat

Pratibhabhat New Member

I am a beginner facing problem with strumming/ picking pattern in any given song. I am moderately comfortable with chords and shifting between 2 chords.
    Problem is I have difficulty in identifying or understanding how the strumming pattern should be for a song.
    Can anyone guide me?
    Say for example - take the song do dil mil rahe hai from Pardesh.. I know the chords used in this song but the strumming doesnt match when i play. :eek: That drives me nuts!
    Help!

2. Redalert

Redalert New Member

Why dont you start with something simpler?? With just the strumming without any background music or anything. I think by doing so you will gradually start to understand the rythum of the chords. :)

3. esgallindeion

esgallindeion Minstrel Knight

Keep on experimenting. Strum as you want to. Sooner or later, it will come to you.

4. scot_hacker

scot_hacker New Member

Here's some Help

Hey. There's no doubt practising eight hours a day will work wonders but it's better to have *something* at least to guide you. Take a look at cyberfret.com's very basic strumming lessons.

Cyberfret.com
    :beer:

5. wisevijay

wisevijay newbombayrox

8 hrs......u mean continious 8 hrssssss..i ve practiced for minimum 4 hrs continious and 7-8 hrs in all in a day;-)4 me strumming is no problem while playin sitting but when i try to play standing i face some problems.hope more practicing will do the charm
    :) :)

6. alli

alli The Best Ever

mannn...u guys practise for 8 hrs !!!!!!

im happy if i get 2 hrs to prac. :eek:

7. wisevijay

wisevijay newbombayrox

vacation time man......and i dont spend much time on the PC.....and on the net..........hehehe:cool:

8. alli

alli The Best Ever

wat bout the rythmn..... u get tht when u practise and also depends from song to song.... right ?...