F-cut or Air-Hole

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by wap4, Mar 24, 2005.

1. wap4

wap4 New Member

I am planning to go guitar-buying this weekend. I have a couple of questions.

[general question]

Which is a better option - the f-cut or an air-hole ? My friend said that the f-cut would be useful only if I need to play lead stuff ? Is it true ? I am a beginner.

[delhi-specific question]

Am planning to go to a couple of shops in Delhi - Bharat Music Store / Bina Store (lajpat nagar) . Do you know if these shops would be closed friday/saturday for holi ?

Thanks
    wap4

2. death_metal_fan

death_metal_fan oh goody, it's a woody!

They will sound different. The best way to figure out the difference is to play comparable guitars with an f-cut design and an air-hole design. Both types of guitars can be used to play leads.

3. deathdr_87

deathdr_87 Awesome Guitarist

actually - it depends on what kind of stuff u wnat to aply - if ur more into playing out in the open with a few freidns - and ur not aplnning to mic/put a pickup on ur guitar - ud ofetn find that an airhole guitar is better- its more for a casual player (dont give me flak on this - im jsut saying for beginenrs in general) - it often is louder and more comofrtable to play in the eginning - if ur planning to high notes like 15th fret onwards - u might want to use an f-cut - but best - just go and check them both out - see wat ur more comfortable with

4. Mudit Malhotra

Mudit Malhotra BLOODY FINGERED

brother bina is good for acoustic
    coz i`ve got mine form thr n i m satisfied
    well u can chk the whole market some v v good shops in cannaught place
    and darya ganj k doo reply

5. vini

vini Repeat Offender

yeah..der r many in daryaganj and the best r bharat@panchkuian+lajpat and then Marquis@connaught place(near hotel marina..outer circle)..i dont think..being a novice..derz a particular guitar to begin with...i think its always best to start wid accoustic

tahda!!