Expand Sa Ri Ga Ma.. What are they??

Discussion in 'Carnatic Music of South India' started by mccbala, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. mccbala

    mccbala New Member

    Every one knows that carnatic music is composed from seven notes

    Sa, Ri, Ga, Ma, Pa, Da, Ni..

    But do we know its differences and their proper names?? Here they are:

    * s--- Shadjamam
    * r1-- Sudhdha Rishabam
    * r2-- Chatusruthi Rishabam
    * r3-- Shatsruthi Rishabam
    * g1-- Sudhdha Gaandhaaram
    * g2-- Saadhaarana Gaandhaaram
    * g3-- Anthara Gaandhaaram
    * m1-- Sundhdha Madhyamam
    * m2-- Prathi Madhyamam
    * p--- Panchamam
    * d1-- Sudhdha Dhaivatham
    * d2-- Chatusruthi Dhaivatham
    * d3-- Shatsruthi Dhaivatham
    * n1-- Sudhdha Nishaadham
    * n2-- Kaisiki Nishaadham
    * n3-- Kaakali Nishaadham


Share This Page