Every MAjor is also a minor mode ?

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by zohaib, Dec 19, 2005.

  1. zohaib

    zohaib Shredder

    HI Their IGTians

    wanted to ask that is every major mode is also a minor mode ?


    Emajor Scale have following notes :-

    C#minor Scale has following notes:-

    does that mean minor is also a major (of-a-kind) ?
    aH !!!
    clearify me

  2. taxyse

    taxyse t3h.

    u got the funda wrong...
    that just means ...that the sixth mode of a major scale (the aeolian) is a minor scale of that note....
  3. zohaib

    zohaib Shredder

    detail plz
  4. taxyse

    taxyse t3h.

    well...say u take that e major of urs and instead of startin and ending it with the e...you start and end it at c#...that is u pivot at the 6th note of the e major .i.e c#...then u get the c# minor scale..
    this is what is called modal playin....and the new scale...which although has the same notes as the e maj...but due to its diff tonal centre (c# instead of the e) and diff interval structure between the 1st 2nd and so on notes.....is called the 6th mode of the e maj..the aeolian....
  5. muskan

    muskan New Member


    i am very confused about major can u plz send me ur phone number so that i clearify u can mail me on [SNIP] Plz i wanna clear my doubts.
  6. hindiRox

    hindiRox Banned

    YOu are in the wrong forum,....
  7. alpha1

    alpha1 I BLUES!

    Every major key has a realtive minor key
    and every minor key has a realtive major key.

    So what is the big deal?
  8. ustdjohnny

    ustdjohnny New Member

    Dude, the big deal is getting <i>the tonality</i> of a mode. That way, you can say all of music has just 12 notes. What's the big deal? :)

    @Zohaib. If you are soloing on a chord sequence in E, you can use many scales, all of which are subsets of the E scale.

    For example, harmonise the E scale by taking the 1,3,5,7 from the E scale. with each note as the root.
    YOu will get
    E: E,G#,B,D# = E maj 7 chord
    F#: F#,A,C#,E = F#m7 chord
    A maj7
    Ebm7b5 (also called Eb half-diminished)

    For each chord, you can play a set of scales. For example For F#m7 you can play F#m pentatonic and so on.

    Note: The only chords that appear only once in the harmonised diatonic scale (the do, re me or sa re ga scale, harmonised as above) are the dominant 7th (For E, it is B) and the m7b5 (For E it is Eb).

    So, from a chord sequence, you can make out what scale by locating the dom 7. For example, you have Dm, G7 and C. So, the dom 7 is G, the fourth of which -- c-- is the key centre.

    If you go deeper, you can see that ebm7b5 is B9 without the root note.

    Moral of the story, dig deep and you shall discover new joys :)

    So, C#m is just one of the many scales you can use over the E scale. But, again, the trick is the tonality. For example, play E to E through C scale. Instantly, you will get an Arabic kind of sound (especially if you hammer on the e-f and b-c) .

    It is this theory -- that a particular sequence of notes evokes a particular emotion -- that all of Indian classical music is based on.

    Western music has more rigid harmony rules -- as in what you play <i>over what chord</i> -- but Indian music has more rigid melody rules -- as in what note you play after which note.

    Hope it helps.
    abhijitnath likes this.
  9. zohaib

    zohaib Shredder

    aH !!!
    thanx for all the replies

Share This Page