English Guitarist - New to Mumbai - Want to start a band

Discussion in 'IGT Soundtrack - Your Band, Your Gig, Your Music' started by alex101, Oct 2, 2006.

1. alex101

alex101 New Member

Hi everyone,

I am a 23 yr old guitarist from London and I have recently moved to mumbai for work.

I am looking to start a band over here, playing original music rather than cover versions. I have met some guys who want to play but they play covers and I'm not really into that...

I am looking for a drummer, bassist and vocalist (possibly a second guitarist). I can sing a bit myself but might like our songs to be in hindi. It seems that audiences aren't really into original music over here, and if they are then its of the death metal variety. correct me if im wrong... need to change that

I also have quite good production skills and produced an album's worth of material in my bedroom.

I was unable to bring my guitar or my wicked amp (Marshall JCM 2000 all valve combo, awesome) although I was able to bring my Boss gt6 floor effects unit.

I'm going to go down to furtados and check the other stores in that area (I went into a few the last time I was here) and purchase a cheap electric and a cheap amp. I want to keep my costs low as I will blatantly have to sell them on again after I leave mumbai in 6 months to a year.

Does anyone know how late the music stores stay open till in Bombay as I find it hard to get time off work?

Anyway, if any of you have a band and you're looking for a guitarist or know any drummers / bassists then please get in touch...

Here is some of my material. I recorded these tracks in my bedroom, and play all the instruments (except the drums which I made on my computer) and sing rather badly:

https://www.filelodge.com/files/hdd2/11210/moretolife.mp3

https://www.filelodge.com/files/hdd2/11210/hightimes.mp3

https://www.filelodge.com/files/room15/363833/thebadnotes.mp3

https://www.filelodge.com/files/hdd2/11210/ididntwannaknow.mp3