Difference between amp and processor?

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by Fardeen_14, Nov 8, 2008.

1. Fardeen_14

Fardeen_14 New Member

Hey guys, just wanted to get a brief description of the functions of an amp and a processor and how they differ from each other. I've been playing an acoustic guitar (an SX Jumbo) for around six months and am looking to buy an electric guitar and set-up on a budget. Just something that will serve me well for six months to an year (till I upgrade to a much better one - all depends on my GCSE results, so pray for me guys :D) and then give good service as a practice guitar.

Everything in the setup is gonna be second-hand thanks to the shoestring budget (it's all coming from my savings, and that ain't much :(), but they are in pretty good condition and I'm getting them real cheap too. Getting a Givson Panther for 2850 Rs., an Ibanez GTA10 ten watt practice amp for 1800 Rs. and a processor for somewhere between 2100-3200 Rs. (depends on which one I go for). Which one amongst the two (an amp and a processor) is more important for an electic guitar player? I'd be really, really grateful if someone could let me know pronto. Also, the Panther guy is saying that the strings need to be changed for the guitar to sound good- just how much should I read into this? Does a change of strings really affect sound that much? Please please help me out on this one guys. :)

Btw, I'm not sure about the prices since I'm Bangladeshi and hence had to convert them from taka to rupees (ratio- 1:1.4).

2. ak&guitar

ak&guitar THE INNER VOICE

^^^ An amp is a speaker-like device with built-in controls(which help amplifying the sound, thus the name) from which the sound of your electric guitar comes out (if you plug it in and switch it on). A processor, as the name suggests, just processes the sound thus bringing effects like distortion, wah, pitch bending, harmonies etc.