Classic or Steel String

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by iprakash, Aug 10, 2005.

1. iprakash

iprakash Proud IGTian

Hello Folks, I am pretty new to IGT and to the guitar. Wanted to know which acoustic guitar should I buy for playing Hindi music?

A Classic nylon string guitar or a Steel String guitar?

:help: Prakash

2. dharmatma

dharmatma Banned

steel string guitar, for obvious reasons.

3. iprakash

iprakash Proud IGTian

Thanks Dharmatma. I think this information should have been in the tutorials section but its not there :(

I can't wait to buy my guitar now.

4. deathdr_87

deathdr_87 Awesome Guitarist

hm.. i dont see whats wrong withnylon string guitar - they sound really nice... if u want to put in pickups then get steel str5ings coz pickups dont work with nylon...

5. dmx.mafia

dmx.mafia New Member

Hello All Proffesionals ! ! ! ! !

Hello Dear frendz.....
    I m very new in music line. I bought a new guitar. coz i love 2 play music ... but how thats i do not know...
    well last week my frend tell me to do finger practice........ and i am now do that..
    and now i play it very easy ...(not so much)
    so dear frendz plz tell me wats the new step for me

plz i m waiting 4 ur response

thankx

mani_1313@yahoo.com is my mailing address

6. rabi_sultan

rabi_sultan <Bulla Ki Jana>

for what obvious reasons?

7. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

tone, versatility, ease(for beginner) to name a few?

8. deathdr_87

deathdr_87 Awesome Guitarist

hm... ease is defintely valid - tone - i tihnk its a eprsonalchoice that hell make alter and not now - sio again - ease scores again here. versatality - hm.. yup steel strings are suuited to more styles of music than nylon in general thoguh the opposite may also be true - im not too surew of this one... so i gues ill go with bjr on this - for beginner - yup steel strings!

9. bjr

bjr Lady of the Evening

Start off with your major scales. Try picking up tunes you hear and like. Develop your ear.