Beginner Question

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by mudgalbharat, Apr 16, 2004.

1. mudgalbharat

mudgalbharat Silence Must be Heard

Hello

I am a newbie. I was wondering how someone plays the lead on a guitar. When i say lead, i mean not the chords but strumming single strings. Somehow i think that we can play almost any song no the scales...that is, the G Scale, C Scale, etc. So we just catch up the right scale and try to get the song there. Am i correct??

regards

Bharat Mudgal

2. esgallindeion

esgallindeion Minstrel Knight

No offence but that shld go down as the best noob quote in history.

Well... the best way is to get a teacher... online lessons are also ok. or buy guitar books/videos to teach you.

3. esgallindeion

esgallindeion Minstrel Knight

--- thread moved ---

4. rabi_sultan

rabi_sultan <Bulla Ki Jana>

ok let me try and explain.

a lead guitarist plays the songs melody.

the melody may consist of chords, single notes, bends etc.

the melody and the ryhtym must be based around the scale or rag of the song.

So by learning the scale you would know where to play a note so it doesnt sound completely off key and odd.

however thats only half of it, the rest of it is making the solos and melodies match to the song and thats where the artistic talent comes into it. This part is not easy believe me especially at the beginning but you can get there, easiest way is to learn the different licks and learn blues soloing and then build off there, go to www.12bar.de he has made an excellent section on licks and soloing that should help you out.

5. wisevijay

wisevijay newbombayrox

well mudgal........i had the same problem when started learning.scales such as C,G,etc. help u to develope a hearing to the notes means which note is played on which fret and string in that particular scale ie G scale is frm the G note to the G note and the whole scale contains 2 octaves.this helps to develope ur fingering ie led playing too.