Any reviews/feedback of "Principles of Correct Practice for Guitar" by James Andreas

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by ldu007, Mar 6, 2005.

1. ldu007

ldu007 New Member

Hi...I am a newbie to the site, and a beginner as far as guitar talk and play goes. Am just about comfy with sight reading and playing notes on my guitar, but get seriously lost on a theoretical level when people talk theory about scales/chords/triads etc, and ona practical level, my note splaying ability is not exactly the fastest.
    I intend to buy the book on "Principle for Correct Practice for playing guitar" as well as "Path1: Chords & Rhythm".

Any positive/negative review/feedback on the same would be appreciated, as it is some amount of investment.....(unless i got reduced versions In India).

2. annand

annand the pessimist

i've read a few articles from Andreas.

you said you're "a beginner as far as guitar talk and play goes." if you're a beginner, don't bother wasting time with all that theory stuff, you'll either bore yourself to death, get discouraged from playing or both.

if you want to get comfortable with the guitar learn songs - they teach you plenty of technique. after you get comfortable you'll know which theory you want to learn and when you need to learn them.

3. deathdr_87

deathdr_87 Awesome Guitarist

pick it up if its discounted or something - theory books will help you once ur slightly comfortable playing..

this book should be useful for u even as beginner though cause it will give u one o the millions of correct ways to parctice guitar and thats always helpful especially if u dont have a teacher.

i would reccomend it.

4. guitar books and softwares

hey man i have that book, and trust me thats awsome book,
    but it wud be only helpful to u if u r serious about guitar playing, coz that book will simple change the way u sit, hold and play the guitar..( i mean it..)
    it has got 7 or 8 very boring exercises..( very very helpful though)..lol