Another Wanna-Buy-A-Guitar Thread !

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by Anik8, Aug 1, 2006.

1. Anik8

Anik8 -Starforsaken-

Okay here goes,
    ive been playing the guitar for about 1 and 1/2 years now. Ive got a Samick LW-20 Acoustic, and a couply of more mediocre acoustics..
    around 6-7 back i bought a Java Strat Type for 4.5k, bought a Digitech RP80, and Philips headphones..
    The java was decent, except it had a SSS Config, fret buzz on the 19th fret for the first 3 strings, quite badly made, the action was first too high, n when i made it lower, the fret buzz came out, the neck is pretty slow, not that good..Tones not all that good either
    The volume knob was what i found really funny..full vol at 10, as i took it lower no effect, then on 3 it suddenly decreases, and at 2, sounds off.
    quite a pain.

I play stuff like megadeth, foo fighters, creed, alterbridge, metallica, maiden etc.
    bits of trivium , bodom, but mostly just the rhythm part
    so im not lookin for the real heavy metal sound, and i'd want a particulary good clean tone too..

Ive been lookin up at guitars here and there...and I'd say my budget is around 10-12k, with a bit extra for a amp, around 2-2.5k

Ive looked at the Ibanez GRG270, and the GRG170DX, and both look pretty promising
    If i got something from out of india, i was thinking of a Dean VX/ZX/MLX
    theyre pretty similar, but theyve got zebra pickups, with give a sort of muddy distortion, which im not sure i want.
    one guitar that caught my eye was the Unnamed S-Series guitar as bajaao.com
    for 9k, with a floyd rose, it seems good, but since theres no real manufacturer, theres no guarantee that it'lll be good

I live in Pune, and as of what i know, there's just 3 decent guitar shops here,..
    Mehendale in ABC, and Awaaz and Music Palace in camp.
    Anyone know any other shops here ?
    Also if anyone's selling any second-hand guitars or amps, let me know..