Amp volume control changes tone?

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by fidach, Apr 8, 2007.

1. fidach

fidach New Member

Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie as far as electric guitars go - just bought a guitar + amp on Saturday.

I've been messing around with the settings on my new Laney LX20D and I find that the volume control does not just increase the volume, it actually changes the tone that I hear from the speaker. Is this a feature of cheap amps or am I just imagining it?

Is it better to keep the volume at full and listen through headphones to get a good tone?

Also can someone tell me what the tone control on the guitar does - does it vary the relative amount of bass::treble in the output signal from the guitar?

Thanks a lot guys,
    Amit.

2. tallkien

tallkien DIY GURU

It is quite possible with simple circuits that Volume adjusts percieved tone also. A simple high pass filter wired to your volume control should fix it but i won't advise fiddling with a new amp, you'll void warranty. You'll probably notice the same thing happening with your guitar- you lose highs as you lower the volume.
    Not to worry too much, you'll get used to it soon enough. If its really bad, get it checked out but otherwise I'd say you're very perceptive to notice that

A guitar's tone control is a simple passive CR(capacitor/resistor) circuit that works by sending high frequencies to ground as you roll back on the control. Natural tone when tone is fully open and cuts off highs as you turn it down

3. .:SpY_GaMe:.

.:SpY_GaMe:. New Member

where is laney?

4. horned_guitar

horned_guitar New Member

hey

hey man .........you just got a electric guitar dont mess with it........you can mess with the ****in box guitar but not with da electric 1........

You may spoil it......

5. thehundredthone

thehundredthone Well-Known Member

^ Heh.