$-aLL aB0ut stRummIng

Discussion in 'Beginner's Q&A Forum' started by nik_bokacheley, Feb 27, 2005.

1. nik_bokacheley

nik_bokacheley :help: I'm a mad :sadbye:

Hey all, why not a thread on strumming patterns!!

What we all need is a few strumming patterns which enhances the song we play. Like for hotel california there is a differnt strumming pattern. And for all songs there are different strumming styles.

Okay I'm a newbie. I dont know much about strumming styles. I know 2-3 strumming styles only.

Okay you guys can try out this->

||-D-DU-DU-|-D-DU-DU-||

RHYTHM-> ||-JHIn-CHAKA-CHAKA-Jhin-CHAKA-CHaKA-||-continues....

D= stroke the plactrum downwards once.
    U= stroke the plactrum Upwards once.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So this was all for today!

Hey Plz someone take up the charge of this thread and post a few more strumming patterns. Plz.. And if posible plz mention the song too!! :cool:
    :please:

2. jusmail

jusmail New Member

That rhythm seems to be a waltz rhythm. There are a couple of tutorials on the guitar lessons, tips. Maybe you might wish to work on those.

I am also working on one tutorial. Will present it shortly.

3. vini

vini Repeat Offender

try dis..
    chord sequence>| D | A | D | A |D | G | D | A |

STRUMMING PATTERN>> th|th|st|th continue..
    th=thumb
    st=strum
    while strumming strum only bottom 3 strings wid ur index finger

Chords which i gave r just an example..dis can be played in any chords... but only wid relation ofcourse..buddhu!
    im a guitar novice..so i've shared my li'l but precious knowledge!! :)

4. nik_bokacheley

oppPPss! I didn't understand that VINI. What am I supposed to do?? Okay tell me if I'm right.

First I am to hold a chord. For eg. D major! And then what?? How am I supposed to use my thumb?? Help me with this. And Does strumming mean something else rather than the RHYTHM?? I too am a novice. I don't know much. So no probs if you call me a buddhu. Anyway thanks a lot.