Advice for getting a new electric guitar

Discussion in 'Guitar Gear Talk Forum' started by vijays, Apr 2, 2005.

1. vijays

vijays New Member

Hi experts,

I had posted this question in the thread "Time has come...". I was not sure, if it was good idea to open a new thread that is why I posted in the active thread. Anywayz, personal appologizes to fictional_real, but I didnt have any intension to hijack the thread. :eek::

Coming to the topic....I have been playing an acoustic with pick up for 4 yrs now. Finally, I am planning to get an electric guitar.

My music type is mostly Eric Clapton, Dire Straits, Pink Floyd, Beatles, Doors.... not much heavy metal stuff. I got a budget of arround 22k. I am from mumbai.

Through all the research in this site and other sites, I think Ibanez is not good for my type of music. I was basically thinking of Squier Fat Strat or Epiphone Les Paul 100. Going through the reviews about the above 2 types, I found that lots of negative feed back about Squier guitars. However, Epiphone Les Paul types seemed to have much better reviews. I would like to hear from you guys. Please recommend anything else too if you feel will be good. Thanks for the help.

Cheers!!
    Vijay :beer:

2. rabi_sultan

rabi_sultan <Bulla Ki Jana>

well you have picked the two correct models for that type of music, either you get a Fender Stratocaster copy (Squire) or a Gibson Les Paul copy (Epiphone).

Question is what is the tone you are after, sharp twangs or a softer sounding tone ?

Or would you prefer the loudest, sharpest, crispiest twang (telecaster) or a large range of tones ranging from sharp twangs to a soft sound (stratocaster) or a guitar with greater softer sounding tones (les paul) ?

3. vijays

vijays New Member

Thanks for the reply, Rabi. I just tried playing Squier Strat of one of my friend. I am not sure, how exactly all these will sound. I think, it will be better to actually try it out and hear for myself.