I used to have a hard time memorizing scales/modes while practicing them
on bass not until I found a brilliant etymological piece. It described about the
origin of these scales and how they're named.
First start with C-major scale-c, d, e, f, g a, b, c. This progression is known as
Ionian mode (natural major scale). If you transform the same hand position to
other keys and play, you'll get a major scale for that key.
Now, if you start from d-d, e, f, g, a, b, c, d, you'll be playing a D-Dorian scale.
Similarly, play the progression e, f, g, a, b, c, d, e on your instrument and youíll
Be playing an e-Phrygian scale.
Similarly, for F,G, A, and B, we have Lydian, myxo-lydian, Aeolian(minor scale)
And Locrian scales respectively

While memorizing first play each of the given seven scales to their corresponding
Notes and then switch the same hand position to other keys. Eg; if you like to
Play C-minor(c-Aeolian) scale; first play the Aeolian (minor) scale with it corresponding
Note a as-A, b ,c, d ,e, f, G, A .The tablature will be:

Now, transform the tab given above in the key-A to the key-C. Just switch the string to the
Higher one and deduct 2 frets.


viola! You just played C-minor scale!

I hope Iíve posted some helpful materials. There may be some grammatical errors or technical too,
Please inform me if Iíve mistaken somewhere.


P.S.: if you find this short piece useful, I'll be glad to post similar short but
helpful tips in the future.